A Council is the governing body of a Local Government and consists of elected members, Sec 2.7(1) of the Act defines the role of the Council as –
*  Governs the Local Government’s Affairs; and
*  To be responsible for the performance of the Local Government’s functions.

The Shire of Carnarvon is served by the Shire President and Seven Councillors who are divided into 4 wards – 4 Councillors in the Town Ward, and 1 Councillor each in the Plantation, Gascoyne/Minilya and Coral Bay Wards.