Shire of Carnarvon Reconciliation Action Plan Reference Group

Published on Friday, 27 October 2023 at 4:14:25 PM

At the Council meeting on 24 October, Council received nominations for the Shire of Carnarvon Reconciliation Action Plan Reference Group.

Council acknowledged all applicants and appointed highly respected community leaders who applied to be members of the community representatives. These representatives will work alongside Kath Ryan as Yinggarda Aboriginal Corporation representative, and Karla Tittums as Nganhurra Thanardi Garrbu Aboriginal Corporation representative, the successful applicants for the Reference Group are Carleen Ryder, Rennee Turner, and Paige Ryan.

In making these appointments by a unanimous support, Council reiterated its unwavering dedication and commitment to advancing reconciliation and strengthening the relationships between Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and non-Indigenous Australians and to promoting meaningful change, respect, and recognition for our Aboriginal communities.

As an organisation, the Shire of Carnarvon recognises that historic and more recent events have had a significant impact on many people in our community which has the potential to create an environment of division and undermine unity.

Shire President, Eddie Smith stated, “In this environment where unity is needed more than ever, the Reconciliation process, informed by our Reconciliation Action Plan and led by our Reference Group is vitally important. The Shire of Carnarvon has shown leadership and has demonstrated to the rest of Australia that we are committed to fostering a community that is committed to mutual respect, reconciliation, and inclusivity.”

The Shire of Carnarvon looks forward to working with the Committee to achieve our shared goal of reconciliation and strengthening the bonds between all members of our community.

To review the Shire of Carnarvon Reconciliation Action Plan, please visit the Shire’s website 

Pictured L-R Andrea Selvey, Paige Ryan, Karla Tittums, Rennee Turner, Carleen Ryder and Stephanie Leca. Not pictured Kath Ryan.

Back to All News