Swearing in Ceremony for the 2023 Local Government Elections

Published on Saturday, 28 October 2023 at 8:46:48 AM

The Shire of Carnarvon welcomed another chapter to their Council by swearing in the successful candidates from the 2023 Local Government Elections on Tuesday 24 October 2023.

The swearing in ceremony, conducted by Jill Dwyer JP, was held in the Shire of Carnarvon’s Council Chambers with the ceremony requiring the elected President and Councillors to make a declaration, committing to serve their community with integrity and dedication.

President Eddie Smith was returned as the President, for another four-year term.

The Shire then welcomed two new Councillors, Paul Kelly for a four-year term and Dudley Maslen for a two-year term. Councillor Luke Vandeleur was also sworn in having been re-elected for another four-year term. All these seats are located within the Town Ward.

Councillor Burke Maslen was returned unopposed and commenced another four-year term as Ward Councillor for the Gascoyne/Minilya Ward.

At the first Council meeting held since the 2023 Local Government Elections, Councillor Burke Maslen was also unanimously re-elected as the Deputy President.

We thank all Councillors for their commitment to Community and wish the new Council a successful and productive term.

Back to All News